Who will get Golden Boot 2022 World Cup?

The World Cup Golden Boot is awarded to players who scored the most goals at the tournament.

England’s Harry Kane is the defending champions from Russia 2018, where he scored 6 goals – two more than any other player. The Tottenham Hotspur scored five in the group stage and exactly half of his goals came from the penalty spot.

Kane may fancies his chances again as England come up against weak opposition in their group through the likes of Iran, USA and Wales. And as a result, he has been made the sportsbooks’ joint-favourite at 7/1 to win the Golden Boot.

France are third favourites to win the World Cup and their star striker Kylian Mbappe, shares the same tag as Harry Kane as the 7-1 pre-tournament joint-favourite to win the Golden Boot.

The 23-year-old Paris Saint-Germain star scored four goals in the tournament four years ago as he helped his nation lift the Jules Rimet trophy for the second time.

Given that France and England are expected to meet in the quarter-finals, the winner of that tie could prove the difference, should it be a battle between the two favourites.

Argentina’s Lionel Messi has been made third favourite at 10/1, but with the 35-year-old having out-and-out goalscorers in Lautaro Martinez and Julian Alvarez alongside him, he may have to share the goals.

Brazil’s Neymar and Portugal’s Cristiano Ronaldo are next in line.

The favourites to win the 2022 World Cup Golden Boot are as follows:

Harry Kane 7/1
Kylian Mbappe 7/1
Lionel Messi 10/1
Neymar 10/1
Cristiano Ronaldo 20/1
Lautaro Martinez 20/1
Richarlison 22/1
Memphis Depay 25/1
Romelu Lukaku 28/1
Alvaro Morata 33/1
Vinicus Jr 33/1
Olivier Giroud 33/1
Antoine Griezmann 40/1
Dawin Nunez 40/1
Gabriel Jesus 40/1
Pedro (Brazil) 40/1
Kai Havertz 40/1
Andre Silva 40/1
Raphinha 40/1
Robert Lewandowski 40/1
Serge Gnabry 40/1
Cody Gakpo 50/1
Dusan Vlahovic 50/1
Ferran Torres 50/1
Julian Alvarez 50/1
Kevin De Bruyne 50/1
Michy Batshuayi 50/1
Bruno Fernandes 50/1
Paulo Dybala 50/1
Phil Foden 50/1
Rafael Leo 50/1
Raheem Sterling 50/1
Aleksandar Mitrovic 66/1
Ansu Fati 66/1
Rodrygo 66/1
Dries Mertens 66/1
Eden Hazard 66/1
Gabriel Martinelli 66/1
Jamal Musiala 66/1