Who are the favourites for the 2021-22 Spanish La Liga title?

The 2021-22 Spanish La Liga season starts on Friday 13 August with Valencia welcoming Getafe to the Mestalla.

Real Madrid do not start their season until Saturday night, with a trip to Alaves, whilst FC Barcelona, without Lionel Messi, kick off their new campaign at 19:00 on Sunday evening. Shortly before, defending champions Atletico Madrid are away to Celta Vigo.

Ronald Koeman has done what he can to improve the Barcelona team this summer, bringing in Memphis Depay, Sergio Aguero and Eric Garcia on free transfers and Emerson in a €9 million deal from Real Betis. Despite this, they are 3/1 second favourites to win the league.

Carlo Ancelotti is in the dugout at Real Madrid this season and has also been limited with what he can do in the transfer window. David Alaba is the only new face at the club, arriving on a free transfer from Bayern Munich.

Sergio Ramos has left and Raphael Varane is expected to sign for Manchester United in the coming days.

The biggest club in the world have welcomed a number of players back from loan deals, including Gareth Bale, Martin Odegaard, Takefusa Kubo, Dani Ceballos and Jesus Vallejo. Real Madrid have been made the bookmakers’ 6/4 favourites to win the 2021-22 La Liga title.

Diego Simeone’s Atletico Madrid have good reason to fancy their chances of defending the title this season with what has been going on at their main competitors. But they are actually heading into the new campaign as 7/2 third favourites.

However, Lucas Torreira and Moussa Dembele both returned to their parent clubs following loan deals last campaign.

The club have spent €35 million on Argentina international Rodrigo De Paul from Udinese in what has been a quiet summer transfer window.

The full odds for the 2021-22 La Liga title are as follows:

Real Madrid 6/4
Barcelona 3/1
Atletico Madrid 7/2
Sevilla 20/1
Real Sociedad 66/1
Villarreal 100/1
Athletic Bilbao 275/1
Valencia 500/1
Granada 750/1
Espanyol 750/1
Celta Vigo 1000/1
Real Betis 1000/1
Osasuna 1000/1
Getafe 1000/1
Alaves 1500/1
Levante 2000/1
Cadiz 2000/1
Elche 2500/1
Mallorca 4500/1
Rayo Vallecano 4500/1